Gari stuffed Zucchinis with cashew cheese

I remember loving the stuffed Zucchinis that my mom would cook when she had the time. Becoming a vegan made this dish impossible to taste for me so I decided to make my own well needed vegan version.

I used Gari which is really popular in Benin and Togo and which I discovered when I lived there. They eat it for breakfast or as a side dish.

You will need :
1/2 cup of Gari
2 round belled Zucchinis
1/4 cup of cooked lentils
1/2 red onion
1 carrot
1 tomato
2 garlic cloves
2 pinch of ginger
Salt and pepper to taste
Olive oil
Your favorite African pepper
1/4 cup of grilled and 1/4 cup of fresh (let it previously soak for at least 2 hours) cashew nuts
A few slices of sun dried tomatoes
1/8 cup of fresh basil leaves

Directions :

Take a cup of water to a boil and add the Gari slowly while stirring it constantly. You should rich à point when the water doesn’t absorb any more Gari. Add a tablespoon of water turn off the LE feu.

Cut each zucchini in half and make sure to have a “hat” to be able to cover them. Empty them and keep the flesh. Cut it in small cubes.
In a pan, fry lightly the red onions, tomato, garlic, flesh of the Zucchinis, carrot and ginger. Let it cook for 5 to 7 mn. Once did add salt and pepper to taste.
You can use really any veggie you have nearby.

In a bowl, mix the Gari with the veggies previously cooked.

Stuff the biggest part of the stuffed Zucchinis with the mix and put it all it the oven for 20 minutes at 150.

While it is baking, blend the cashew nuts for 10 seconds. Add in the sundried tomatoes, basil leaves, your favorite African pepper and a table spoon of olive oil. Blend for another 10seconds.

Take the Zucchinis off the oven and fill the hat with the “cashew cheese”.

Bon appétit !

P.S: did you know that Ivory Coast is the biggest producer of cashew nuts in Africa and the Second biggest in the world ? We have treasures in our country. Let’s cherish them.

 

 

Sooo i I don’t know why the pictures don’t show… I have a pb with my computer so I am writing on the iPad… I will try again this week.

but you can see them on my Instagram Vegivoirienne/>

Leave a Reply

