Yes, I am African and Vegan : Tomi, from VeganNigerian

Sorry I have been MIA on te blog. I hope you all love the last post. Today, we are welcoming Tomi, from VeganNigerian.

Image

 

 

Would you please introduce yourself?

My name is Tomi Makanjuola and I run the food blog ‘The Vegan Nigerian’. I grew up eating traditional Nigerian meals at home and so that has had a massive impact on how I view food and flavours. I love experimenting in the kitchen and coming up with all kinds of creative dishes. When I’m not cooking or sharing recipes on the blog, I’m writing, reading and working towards a degree in English and French.

 

How long have you been vegan/vegetarian?

I skipped the vegetarian step and became a full-blown vegan a little over a year ago. It’s been a great ride so far.

 

Why did you decide to commit to this lifestyle?

I was initially drawn to the health claims of following a vegan diet. After giving it a try and seeing the positive changes (such as more energy, clearer skin etc.) I decided to stick with it. I have since done a lot more research into the other positive aspects of following the lifestyle, particularly with regard to the environment.

 

Did you grow up in a vegetarian/vegan household?

Not at all. I’m the first and only vegan in my family.

 

What do you eat in a day?

I like to start the day off with some cereal (usually muesli) and coconut milk; a typical lunch would be a wrap filled with avocado or beans, tomatoes and other veg I have lying around the house. Dinner is usually something more substantial like a rice or sweet potato dish served up with some vegetables. On a good day, I’ll snack on fruits like apples and oranges. If I want to treat myself then I’ll have some dark chocolate, saltine crackers, popcorn or any other vegan-friendly ‘junk food’ I get my hands on.

 

What is your favorite source of protein?

Beans. They’re so versatile and packed full of flavour.

 

Does your immediate circle have the same eating habits as you do?

I have a couple of vegetarian friends, but that’s about it. I share a house with three others when I’m at university and I’m the only vegan housemate… so our eating habits are pretty different.

 

If not, what do they think about it? 

I don’t mind it at all. We’re all free to make our own food choices.

 

Do you have children?  What eating habits do they have, would you like them to have? Why?

No, I’m still much too young to have children. When/if I do have any, I’d like to teach them healthy eating habits. Sound nutritional knowledge is often overlooked, and so I’d want them (from an early age) to have a good grasp of the different effects of food on the mind and body. Not so that they start to obsess over it, but so that they can make smart food choices as they get older.

 

Is it easy as an African vegetarian/vegan to go grocery shopping?

It’s easy if you plan ahead and visit the right kind of grocery stores. And by ‘right kind’, I mean stores that stock all the staples I need such as grains, vegetables and fruits, in decent quantities. I’ve actually found that I spend less time in grocery stores because I can bypass whole sections of it (meat/dairy aisles)!

 

How do you deal with holiday dinners?

Again, I find it’s important to plan ahead. If I don’t pack some vegan-friendly food to take along then I just do a bit of online research to find restaurants that have vegan options.

 

 

 Image

How do you deal with eating at your non vegetarian/vegan friends places?

Well, if they’re considerate friends who know that I am vegan, they’d make sure there’s something vegan-friendly for me to eat I guess. If I’m eating at someone’s place for the first time, I simply let them know in advance. Sometimes I’m wary of sounding fussy or being ‘that-annoying-vegan-person’, but a girl’s gotta eat and I’d rather avoid the awkwardness of turning up and refusing everything I’m offered because it’s steeped in dairy or filled with meat.

 

 

How is vegetarism and veganism perceived in your city?

I’m currently based in the city of Oxford where it’s not such a big deal being vegan. In fact, I believe there’s a vegan/vegetarian society based here. Now when I go back to Lagos, I imagine it will be a completely different story. Nigerian vegans/vegetarians DO exist, but they make up a very small population at the moment.

 

Do you have anything else you would like to share?

Thanks for featuring me on your site. I can’t wait to try some of your vegan Ivorian dishes!! The fact that your recipes are in French is great too – I get to practice my French reading comprehension and make delicious food: win-win situation really 🙂

 

 

Make sure to visit Tomi’s blog for nigerian goodness.

 

3 thoughts on “Yes, I am African and Vegan : Tomi, from VeganNigerian

Leave a comment